Jennie Howie
Government Member Award

Jennie Howie
Government Member Award

The Jennie Howie Government Member Award honours a CCMTA government member who has made a significant contribution to CCMTA and who’s primary role in their day-to-day work is directly associated with the coordination, administration, regulation and control of motor vehicle transportation and highway safety.

Jennie Howie was a long-time member of CCMTA representing the Yukon Territory. Jennie was active in the Road Safety Research and Policies Program Committee as well as the Board of Directors. She also served as Chair of the Board from May 2000 to June 2001. After an eight-year battle with cancer, Jennie passed away peacefully on January 5, 2005. The Government Member Award was renamed in 2006 to honour her many contributions to the organization. 

Nominations for the Jennie Howie Government Member Award can be submitted by CCMTA members in good standing, including members of the Board of Directors, Program Committees and Working Groups. 

  • To be presented to a CCMTA government member whose primary function is directly associated with the coordination, administration, regulation, and control of motor vehicle transportation and highway safety, and who has made a significant contribution to CCMTA.
  • Candidate must be a CCMTA member-government representative for a minimum of three years.
  • Program Committee Chairs and Board Members are not eligible.
Nomination Requirements:
  • Nominators must be members in good standing with CCMTA.
  • Completed award nomination form.
  • Brief statement citing the accomplishments that make the nominee deserving of this award.
  • Nominations should be specific about the achievements for which the award is proposed. Clear, concise information about the accomplishments of the nominee is most useful.
  • Accomplishments should be linked to the objectives and goals within CCMTA's strategic plan.
  • One or more letters of endorsement should support the nomination.

Only complete nominations will be considered. 

  • Recipient(s) may be recognized at the CCMTA Annual Meeting.
  • Recipient(s) will be notified in advance.
  • Travel and accommodation, if applicable, are the responsibility of the award recipient(s).

The 2023 nomination period has now closed. 

2022 Recipients

Darcy Bly

Darcy was recognized for his expertise, knowledge, and leadership having served as the co-Chair Canadian Driver Licence Agreement (CDLA) Operations Group. He has served in this role since 2018 and during his tenure supported jurisdictions in reaching consensus on a number of key areas that required resolution. CCMTA has benefitted from his commitment and dedication to this work. We thank him for his leadership.

Richard Robinson

Pierre Pratte
Transport Canada

Richard Robinson from the Ministry of Transportation, Ontario and Pierre Pratte from Transport Canada were recognized for their collective efforts in advancing the Electronic Logging Device (ELD) file. The ELD file has required extensive discussion, collaboration, and attention.  Their knowledge and experience has made a difference in the progress of this file.  CCMTA thanks them both for their work to make Canada’s roads safer across the nation.

Click here to view previous recipients
  • 2021 - Franca Ambrosia (ON), Kelley Merilees (AB), Andrew Spoerri (Transport Canada)
  • 2019 - Shaun Hammond (AB)
  • 2018 - Tracy Bendera (YT)
  • 2017 - Jamie Dow (QC), Roy Lilly (NL), Neil Swirsky (MB), Victoria Macdonald (MB)
  • 2016 - Wendy Doyle (AB)
  • 2015 - Neil Arason (BC)
  • 2014 - Doug MacEwen (PE)
  • 2013 - Mark Schauerte (TC)
  • 2012 - Peter Hurst (ON)
  • 2011 - Mitch Fuhr (AB), Kim Benjamin (Transport Canada), Paul Gutoskie (Transport Canada)
  • 2010 - Paul Gobeil (QC)
  • 2009 - Mark Francis (BC)
  • 2008 - Shannon Ell (SK)
  • 2007 - Carolyn Burggraaf (NL), Claude Gélinas (QC)
  • 2006 - Jennifer Kroeker-Hall (BC)
  • 2005 - Brian Orrbine (Transport Canada), Paul Gutoskie (Transport Canada)
  • 2004 - Roger Clarke (AB)
  • 2003 - Perry Therien (BC)
  • 2002 - Paul Boase (Transport Canada)
  • 2001 - Kwei Quaye (SK)
  • 2000 - Janice Schimdt (BC)
  • 1999 - Derek Sweet (Transport Canada)
  • 1998 - Ben Mikkelsen (BC), Reg Common (SK)
  • 1997 - Jean Talbot (QC)
  • 1996 - Kim Devought (ON)
  • 1995 - John Hughes (ON)